Today march the fifth, in the year of Our Lord two thousand and fourteen, Ash Wednesday and beggining of Lent…

…I begin writing on this weblog, which I wish to be my companion and testimony of the journey me and my family are about to begin.

Believe me when I say that this is an important day, and that is why I wish to make it a little more special by starting to write here. And why is this day so special? If you are reading this entry, you must have seen the title of the blog and may infer what I mean: Today I have been admitted to the Ph.D. program in the University of Texas at El Paso.

Before going on, let me explain a little about me. I live in Chihuahua, Mexico, studied both my bachelor and masters degree at the Faculty of Engineerings of the Universidad Autónoma de Chihuahua. I have worked in the industry for almost ten years since I graduated, mostly on systems administration. About five years ago, when I completed my masters, I decided to begin teaching in my Alma Mater, and have been doing so (part-time) since that time. Also around that time, I began thinking of the possibility of continue studying a doctorate. My father, who I must say is a big reference and inspiration for my academic endeavors, studied a doctorate at the Institute of Geophysics at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

I thought of the possibility of doing so since that time, never really deciding if I should do it. To be honest, I did not even thought I could be able to do so.

Then, I got married two years ago. My dearly beloved wife has been truly supportive, not to say that she has motivated me to go further of that I expected of me in different aspects of life, sometimes even pushing me real hard. I now see that I needed that impulse so I could get things going by myself. And about that I will write my next post tomorrow.

About miguelroyo

Catholic, computer science PhD student, computer science college teacher and former Windows sysadmin. Sports fan, amateur writer, book/movie/music lover. My favorite job is father to my beautiful children and husband to my beloved wife.
This entry was posted in Family, Inspiration, Introduction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

